Sunday, April 5, 2009

2nd Annual Unofficial USHL Blog Awards

Today, the USHL announced their award winners, so it's time for my award winners. These will all be different from the official award winners. Last season's Unofficial Awards can be found here.

Defensive Forward of the Year: Brent Gwidt - Indiana Ice
A repeat winner, Gwidt is still one of the best defensive forwards the USHL has to offer. Gwidt enjoyed three successful seasons in Indiana and will now move on to UNO to help the Mavericks next season.

Defensive Defenseman of the Year: Ross Henry - Lincoln Stars
Ross shared the award last season, but locks it down as his own this season. Ross is the type that is very reliable in the defensive end, but it's going to crack the scoresheet repeatedly. He takes care of things in the defensive zone and makes very few mistakes.

Tim Ferguson Most Points Award: Andrew Miller - Chicago Steel
Miller started the season off on fire, and never let up. Although the gap closed at the end of the season, Miller had been atop the scoring race for most of the season.

Rod Taylor Trophy (Most Goals): Mike Cichy - Indiana Ice and Andy Taranto - Fargo Force
Cichy exploded ever since he arrived in Indiana from Tri-City. In 30 games with the Ice, Cichy recorded a whopping 47 points. Taranto is in his 3rd year in the league, and hadn't scored more than 7 goals in a season. Andy finished the season scorching, as he had 11 points in his last 5 games.

Tim Ferguson Trophy (Most Assists): Andrew Miller - Chicago Steel
Miller picks up another award, as he notched 50 assists. Craig Smith was a very close 2nd with 48 helpers, but just missed out on his first Unofficial Award.

Ryan Ronkowski Trophy (Most PIM): Sebastian Geoffrion - Indiana Ice
In his rookie season, Geoffrion amassed 182 PIM for the Ice. Geoffrion appeared in only 45 games, but still led the league in this category. He outdid Des Moines' Andrew Panzarella by 11 PIM.

Dan Ellis Trophy (Most Shutouts): Brett Bennett - Indiana Ice
Bennett appeared in a remarkable 54 games this season for the Ice. The next most was 48 appearances and 3 shutouts. There were 9 less shutouts this season from last, so you should feel lucky if you were able to witness one.

Jeff Lerg Trophy (Most Goalie Wins): Brett Bennett - Indiana Ice
Bennett recorded 35 wins, which is 9 more than Mike Lee. Very impressive season for Bennett, and that should continue through the playoffs and into next season with Wisconsin.

Unofficial USHL Hockey Blog Most Underrated Player: Anthony DeCenzo - Tri-City Storm
DeCenzo had a very good year, but was on a bad team. DeCenzo came to play every night and was almost constantly a factor in Storm games. Despite being -41, DeCenzo posted 44 points.

Black and Blue: The Unofficial Lincoln Stars Blog Most Improved Player Award: Dean Chelios - Chicago Steel
Chelios posted 18 points last season in Cedar Rapids and only 1 this season before being traded to Chicago. Since the trade, Chelios has amassed 53 points in 49 games for the Steel. Chelios was even able to sneak into the top 20 in scoring after a slow start in Cedar Rapids. Another factor that probably helped Dean this season was being reunited with former high school linemate, Andrew Miller.

Unofficial USHL Hockey Blog Player of the Year: Mike Seidel - Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
Seidel has been a consistent force all season, but seems to go unrecognized most of the time. Seidel is the franchise leader in points and, I believe, goals as well. He has had an outstanding career with Cedar Rapids.

Unofficial USHL Hockey Blog All-First Team:
G - Mike Johnson - Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
D - Ross Henry - Lincoln Stars
D - Lee Moffie - Waterloo Black Hawks
F - Danny Kristo - Omaha Lancers
F - Brandon Richardson - Indiana Ice
F - Kirt Hill - Lincoln Stars

Unofficial USHL Hockey Blog All-Second Team:
G - Reid Ellingson - Green Bay Gamblers
D - Michael Keenan - Sioux City Musketeers
D - Joe Lavin - Omaha Lancers
F - Michael Forney - Green Bay Gamblers
F - Terry Broadhurst - Sioux Falls Stampede
F - Pat Mullane - Omaha Lancers

Unofficial USHL Hockey Blog All-Third Team:
G - Anthony Borelli - Lincoln Stars
D - Patrick Wey - Waterloo Black Hawks
D - Mike Dalhuisen - Lincoln Stars
F - Kyle Flanagan - Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
F - Jordan Samuels-Thomas - Waterloo Black Hawks
F - Dean Chelios - Chicago Steel

Unofficial USHL Hockey Blog All-Rookie Team:
G - Parker Milner - Waterloo Black Hawks
D - Dan Sova - Waterloo Black Hawks
D - Philip Samuelsson - Chicago Steel
F - Ben Miller - Waterloo Black Hawks
F - Stephan Vigier - Sioux City Musketeers
F - William Rapuzzi - Green Bay Gamblers
F - Josh Birkholz - Fargo Force

No comments: