Sunday, May 11, 2008

Ohio Ceases Operations

It is now official. There has been much talk of this, but the league has finally released a statement to make it as official as can be.

Junior Blue Jackets Cease Operations

The United States Hockey League announced today that the Ohio Junior Blue Jackets have ceased operations for the 2008-09 season, ending the team's two-year run in Ohio's capitol city.

"Many people, from Tom Goebel and his ownership to others around the USHL worked tirelessly to find a location where this franchise could be a success. But with the timing and the lack of an adequate facility in potential new centers, it was decided that it was in everyone's best interests that the franchise cease operations," said USHL president Gino Gasparini.

The USHL Board of Governors approved the franchise going dark and also voted to transfer the returning veteran players on Ohio's protected list to the expansion Fargo Force. As a result, the expansion draft scheduled for May 13 has been cancelled. It is expected that 10-12 players will be a part of the transfer. Also with this agreement, Fargo will relinquish their picks in the first three rounds of the USHL Entry Draft, scheduled for May 14.

All players on the Ohio affiliate list will become free agents.

"As a league, we certainly appreciate the time, effort and hard work that Tom Goebel and his people put into making this team and the Columbus market a success. Unfortunately, without the support of the Columbus Blue Jackets we could not continue to have the team operate the way it was," said USHL board chairman Jim Kronschnabel. "The organization did a good job and put together a pretty good roster of talented players and we're happy that the ones that are returning to the USHL will have a home with Fargo."

The Junior Blue Jackets spent two seasons in Columbus, compiling a record of 39-68-13 and finishing in fifth place in the East Division each year. Their only playoff appearance came after the 2006-07 season, when they were eliminated in a four-game sweep by Cedar Rapids. Prior to their time in Ohio, the franchise skated as the Thunder Bay Flyers from 1984 to 2000.

With the expansion team entering in Fargo and the departure of Ohio, the USHL will remain a 12-team circuit for the 2008-09 season. The West Division will consist of Fargo, Lincoln, Nebraska, Omaha, Sioux City and Sioux Falls. The East Division will feature Cedar Rapids, Chicago, Des Moines, Green Bay, Indiana and Waterloo.

The USHL is America's only Tier I league and the premier path for developing players in America. The league has over 170 current players committed to Division I colleges and 19 players that have been selected in the NHL Draft. For more information on the USHL and its member teams, visit us on the web at

No comments: